Eagleton golf resort kicks off qualifying rounds of Louis Philippe Cup

10th November, 2011

The first club qualifying event of the Louis Philippe Cup will be played at the Eagleton golf resort

Bengaluru: Bengaluru's Eagleton golf resort will see over 100 amateur golfers vie for a place in the Puravankara Bengaluru team that will represent the city in India's richest domestic golf event - the Louis Philippe Cup. The club qualifiers to be held in Eagleton golf resort on Friday (11th November 2011), will be the first of the 20 amateur qualifying rounds to be held in the eight participating cities across India - Delhi, Mumbai, Gurgaon, Chandigarh, Kolkata, Chennai and Lucknow.

The new IPL-style event, with its US$250,000 purse, will be the richest domestic event on the PGTI calendar. India's top stars like former Asian tour player of the year Jyoti Randhawa (Gurgaon), European tour regular Shiv Kapur (Delhi), two-time European tour winner S. S. P. Chowrasia (Kolkata), two-time Asian tour winner Gaganjeet Bhullar (Chandigarh), 2011 Asian tour winner Anirban Lahiri (Bangalore), 2011 Singapore Classic winner Himmat Rai (Gurgaon) and the current No. 1 in the Rolex-PGTI rankings Chiragh Kumar (Delhi) have all confirmed their participation in the extravaganza.

The winning amateur from the Eagleton round will play on the Puravankara Bengaluru team alongside professional stars Anirban Lahiri and his two teammates on the first two days of the Louis Philippe Cup. The combined 36 hole scores of the three member pro and three member amateur teams will determine the winners of the Pro-am title. The scores of the three member pro team alone will determine which four pro city teams progress to the semi-finals and then the finals of the Louis Philippe Cup to be held in March 2012 at the Karnataka Golf Association, Bengaluru.

The PGTI has launched this new inter-city team event to provide some exciting golf action for the 100,000 strong golf community across India and to create a strong fan following for India's star professional players who have been performing outstandingly on the international pro tours. The tournament will see Rs.36 lakhs going to the winning three member pro team, while the team that finishes second will pocket Rs.24 lakhs. The third team on the podium will win a purse of Rs.18 lakhs, while each team will win a minimum of Rs.6 lakhs for participating.

For further information, please contact:
Janet Arole
Media Relations - Madura F&L
M: +91 - 9702720666